twitter google

Demetrious Johnson To Defend His Flyweight Title At UFC 177

Andrew Ravens

UFC 177

UFC 177 is shaping up to be a good one, the promotion announced that Demetrious Johnson will defend his Flyweight belt at the PPV against veteran Chris Cariaso.

Might Mouse AKA Demetrious Johnson (20-2) has 4 knockouts, seven submissions and 8 decision victories in his MMA career, while he has never been finished in a fight. DJ made his UFC debut at UFC 126 – Silva vs. Belfort on Feb / 05 / 2011 against Norifumi Yamamoto which he won by via unanimous decision. He went through the flyweight tournament by beating Ian McCall and then beat Joseph Benavidez to win the Flyweight title via split decision at UFC 152 – Jones vs. Belfort on Sep / 22 / 2012.

DJ would defend his title three times and won all three of those fights. He beat John Dodson via unanimous decision at UFC on Fox 6 – Johnson vs. Dodson on Jan / 26 / 2013, John Moraga via submission at UFC on Fox 8 – Johnson vs. Moraga on Jul / 27 / 2013 and then Joseph Benavidez via knockout at UFC on Fox 9 – Johnson vs. Benavidez 2 on Dec / 14 / 2013. Demetrious Johnson def. Ali Bagautinov by unanimous decision at UFC 174 earlier this year.

Cariaso (17-5 MMA, 6-4 UFC) Has 3 knockouts, 2 submission and 11 decision victories. He has only lost once via KO, twice by submission and twice by decision. He made his UFC debut against Will Campuzano which he won via Unanimous decision at UFC – Fight for the Troops 2 on Jan / 22 / 2011. In his last four fights he is 2-2. He lost against John Moraga via 3rd Rd Guillotine Choke at UFC 155 – Dos Santos vs. Velasquez 2 on Dec / 29 / 2012. He lost again against Jussier da Silva at UFC on FX 8 – Belfort vs. Rockhold on May / 18 / 2013 via Unanimous decision. He beat Iliarde Santos at UFC Fight Night – Maia vs. Shields on Oct / 09 / 2013 via 2nd Rd TKO and in his last fight he beat Danny Martinez at UFC 169 – Barao vs. Faber, 2 Feb / 01 / 2014 via Unanimous decision.

UFC 177 takes place Aug. 30 at Sleep Train Arena in Sacramento, Calif. Its headliner is a rematch from UFC 173 in May between new bantamweight champ T.J. Dillashaw against ex-champ Renan Barao. The event will air on Fight Pass, Fox Sports 1 and PPV.

Here is how the rest of the card looks like:

Champ T.J. Dillashaw vs. Renan Barao – for bantamweight title
Champ: Demetrious Johnson Vs. Chris Cariaso – flyweight title fight.
Shayna Baszler vs. Bethe Correia
Danny Castillo vs. Tony Ferguson
Anthony Hamilton vs. Ruan Potts
Carlos Diego Ferreira vs. Ramsey Nijem
Derek Brunson vs. Lorenz Larkin
Justin Edwards vs. Yancy Medeiros


Follow MMAFrenzy