twitter google

UFC Announces Big Changes to Hall of Fame

Royce Gracie

The Ultimate Fighting Championship has taken steps to streamline the induction process for its “Hall of Fame”, as today the promotion has announced that it will now feature four different categories. All of the 12 men who have already been inducted into the HOF, have been assigned to their respective categories.

So what does this all mean? Well, according to an announcement at, the four new categories are:

Modern era wing: commemorating fighters who made their pro MMA debut in the modern era

Pioneers era wing: commemorating fighters who made their pro MMA debut in the pioneers era

Contributors wing: commemorating significant contributions outside of active competition

Fight wing: commemorating the greatest and most important bouts in the sport’s history

Then, at the HOF’s new FAQ page, it breaks down the criteria for each category as follows:

1) Fighters who debuted in the Modern Era, on or after November 17, 2000

2) Fighters who debuted in the Pioneer Era, before November 17, 2000

3) Fights of great historical significance

4) Outstanding contributions to the UFC outside of active competition (ie non-participants)

And where does leave the 12 people who have already been deducted?

Modern Era

Forrest Griffin (inducted 2013)


Royce Gracie (inducted 2003)

Ken Shamrock (inducted 2003)

Dan Severn (inducted 2005)

Randy Couture (inducted 2006)

Mark Coleman (inducted 2008)

Chuck Liddell (inducted 2009)

Matt Hughes (inducted 2010)

Tito Ortiz (inducted 2012)

Pat Miletich (inducted 2014)


Forrest Griffin vs Stephan Bonnar I, April 2005 (inducted 2014)


Charles “Mask” Lewis (inducted 2009)

So there you go. Chances are most fans will approve of the changes, although keep in mind, the UFC HOF does not include legends who competed outside of the promotion….

The next round of inductions will take place on July 11th as part of the UFC Fan Expo and UFC 189 festivities.


Follow MMAFrenzy