twitter google

Bellator 140: Andrey Koreshkov Upsets Douglas Lima

Andrey Koreshkov

Andrey Koreshkov scored an upset victory tonight overĀ Douglas Lima, and did so in surprising fashion to become Bellator’s welterweight champ.

Most pundits and fans were expected an explosive, stand-up battle in tonight’s main event, but Koreshkov turned heads by repeatedly taking the powerful Lima to the ground. Koreshkov wasn’t able to inflict much damage on the mat, but the former tourney winner controlled the action and was awarded the unanimous decision.

Bellator 140 went down at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Connecticut. Here are the results.

Andrey Koreshkov def. Douglas Lima via unanimous decision (48-47, 50-45, 50-45)

Paul Daley def. Dennis Olson via TKO (punches) R2, 1:12

Brennan Ward def. Roger Carroll via KO (punches) R1, 2:06

Chris Honeycutt vs. Paul Bradley declared no contest (stoppage due to cut from accidental headbutt to Bradley) R2, 2:47

Michael Page def. Rudy Bears via KO (punches) R1, 1:05

Dean Hancock def. Alex Dunworth via TKO (corner stoppage) R2, 2:14

Kaline Medeiros def. Sarah Payant via submission (kimura) R1, 3:24

Ryan Quinn def. Waylon Lowe via submission (guillotine choke) R2, 2:47

Kin Moy def. Blair Tugman via submission (triangle choke) R3, 3:01

Remo Cardarelli def. Billy Giovanella via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Parker Porter def. Eric Bedard via submission (keylock) R2, 2:51


Follow MMAFrenzy