twitter google

Dynamite!! 2009 Results: Yoshida Ruins Ishii’s Debut; Aoki, Mousasi, Overeem, and Minowa Victorious

Dynamite 2009 PosterHidehiko Yoshida ruined the anticipated debut of fellow Olympic Judo gold medalist Satoshi Ishii, topping the MMA newcomer by unanimous decision in MMA main event of Thursday’s 18-bout “Dynamite!! 2009” event at the Saitama Super Arena in Saitama, Japan.

Regarded lightweight and DREAM champ Shinya Aoki earned a quick submission victory over Sengoku’s Mizuto Hirota, breaking his arm with a hammerlock in the opening-round before flipping off Hirota and the crowd before quickly leaving the ring.

In other notable MMA action, Ikuhisa Minowa upset Rameau Thierry Sokoudjou with a third-round TKO to win DREAM’s “Super Hulk” tourney and Gegard Mousasi and Alistair Overeem each earned first-round knockouts.

“Dynamite!! 2009” was capped off by an exciting K-1 rematch between Masato and Andy Souwer, with Masato earning a decision victory in the bout billed as his last.

The complete results for Dynamite!! 2009 were:


  • Hidehiko Yoshida def. Satoshi Ishii via unanimous decision
  • Shinya Aoki def. Mizuto Hirota via technical submission (hammerlock) – Round 1
  • Gegard Mousasi def. Gary Goodridge via TKO (punches) – Round 1
  • Alistair Overeem def. Kazuyuki Fujita via KO (knee) – Round 1
  • Masanori Kanehara def. Norifumi “Kid” Yamamoto via unanimous decision
  • Tatsuya Kawajiri def. Kazunori Yokota via unanimous decision
  • Hideo Tokoro def. Jong Man Kim via unanimous decision
  • Melvin Manhoef def. Kazuo Misaki via TKO (punches) – Round 1
  • Akihiro Gono def. Hayato “Mach” Sakurai via submission (armbar) – Round 2
  • Michihiro Omigawa def. Hiroyuki Takaya via TKO (punches) – Round 1
  • Hiroshi Izumi def. Katsuyori Shibata via unanimous decision*
  • Ikuhisa Minowa def. Rameau Thierry Sokoudjou via TKO (punch) – Round 3
    DREAM “Super Hulk” Finale


  • Masato def. Andy Souwer via unanimous decision
  • Masaaki Noiri def. Shota Shimada via unanimous decision (K-1 KOSHIEN final)
  • Ray Sefo def. Yosuke Nishijima via unanimous decision
  • Shota Shimada def. Katsuki Ishida via majority decision (K-1 KOSHIEN semifinal)
  • Masaaki Noiri def. Hiroya via unanimous decision (K-1 KOSHIEN semifinal)
  • Tsukasa Fuji def. Ryuya Kusakabe (K-1 KOSHIEN reserve)


Follow MMAFrenzy