twitter google

Georges St-Pierre Wins Fighter of the Year, Sanchez-Guida Fight of the Year at 2009 World MMA Awards

Georges St-PierreUFC welterweight champion Georges St-Pierre was named “Fighter of the Year” at Fighters Only’s 2009 World MMA Awards, which were held on Wednesday in Las Vegas. “Fight of the Year” honors went to Diego Sanchez vs. Clay Guida from The Ultimate Fighter 9 Finale, while Strikeforce champion Cristiane “Cyborg” Santos was named “Female Fighter of the Year”.

The complete list of winners for the fan-voted awards were:

  • Best MMA Gym: Greg Jackson’s Submission Fighting
  • Best gloves: UFC
  • Best MMA clothing: TapouT
  • Breakthrough Fighter of the Year: Brock Lesnar
  • Coach of the Year: Greg Jackson
  • Best MMA brand: TapouT
  • Best MMA Journalist: John Morgan (MMAJunkie)
  • Female Fighter of the Year: Cristiane “Cyborg” Santos
  • Leading Man of the Year: Dana White
  • Best MMA shorts: Tapout
  • Submission of the Year: Toby Imada
  • Best Promotion: UFC
  • Best MMA Media Coverage: MMAJunkie
  • Ring Girl of the Year: Arianny Celeste
  • European Fighter of the Year: Gegard Mousasi
  • Fight of the Year: Diego Sanchez vs. Clay Guida
  • Fighter of the Year: Georges St. Pierre
  • Special Achievement Award: Charles “Mask” Lewis


Follow MMAFrenzy