twitter google

UFC 196: Nate Diaz Ends Conor McGregor’s Undefeated UFC Run, Miesha Tate Takes BW Crown

Nate Diaz

Conor McGregor’s remarkable, undefeated UFC run came to a screeching halt tonight at UFC 196, as the featherweight champ was taken out by Nate Diaz.

Early on in the headliner, McGregor battered Diaz with several punishing left hands, and cut the latter by the right eye. Although it looked like McGregor could be headed to another stoppage win, in round two, Diaz turned things around and then some.

After stunning McGregor with a big left, the bout eventually spilled to the mat, and Diaz quickly slapped on a rear-naked-choke. The featherweight champ, who was competing at 170, was given no choice but to tap out.

Miesha Tate is likely headed to a third fight with Ronda Rousey, as she took the bantamweight title from Holly Holm. The perennial contender choke the decorated striker out in round five with a rear-naked-choke.

Here are the results for tonight’s card.

Nate Diaz def. Conor McGregor via submission (rear-naked choke) R2, 4:12

Miesha Tate def. Holly Holm via technical submission (rear-naked-choke) R5, 3:30

Ilir Latifi def. Gian Villante via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Corey Anderson def. Tom Lawlor via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

Amanda Nunes def.  Valentina Shevchenko via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-27, 29-27)

Siyar Bahadurzada def. Brandon Thatch via submission (arm-triangle-choke) R3, 4:11

Nordine Taleb def. Erick Silva via KO (punches) R2, 1:34

Vitor Miranda def. Marcelo Guimaraes via TKO (punches) R2 1:09,

Darren Elkins def. Chas Skelly via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-27, 30-26)

Diego Sanchez def. Jim Miller via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Jason Saggo def. Justin Salas via TKO (punches) R1, 4:31

Teruto Ishihara def. Julian Erosa via knockout (punches) R2, 0:34


Follow MMAFrenzy