“A review was held … and the Combat Sports Authority of NSW did not seek to interfere with the referee’s decision,” Craig Waller, the Executive Director of the Combat Sports Authority of New South Wales, which oversaw the event, today told MMAjunkie.com.
Bonnar and Soszynski accidentally clashed heads early in the third round of the bout, and a resulting gash on Bonnar’s forehead forced the fight to be stopped. However, the referee incorrectly ruled that a legal strike from Soszynski caused the cut and declared him the winner by TKO, rather than going to the judges for a decision or ruling it a no contest.
They are now expected to rematch at The Ultimate Fighter 11 Finale on June 19 in Las Vegas.
Pictured: Stephan Bonnar