twitter google

UFC on Fuel TV 4 Recap: Weidman Dominates Munoz, Asks for Silva Next

UFC on Fuel TV 4 took place live from the HP Pavilion in San Jose, California. Chris Weidman continued his rocket-like ascent up the UFC middleweight division with an absolutely dominating performance against Mark Munoz.

In the event’s co-main event, James Te Huna battered Joey Beltran for the better part of three rounds but Beltran simply refused to go down. Aaron Simpson, Francis Carmont, T.J. Dillashaw, and Rafael Dos Anjos also notched wins on the televised card.

Weidman Destroys Munoz, Calls for Silva

Chris Weidman was dominant against Mark Munoz from start to finish tonight. Weidman showed elite grappling in the first by brilliantly blending wrestling and BJJ to give the former NCAA Division 1 national champion fits on the ground.

In the second, Weidman displayed his striking. After opening up with more wrestling Munoz finally escaped to his feet but Weidman would not be deterred as he looked strong theere as well. Weidman managed to land the coup de grâce with a brilliantly timed elbow countering a wild overhand shot from Munoz. While the stoppage would not come for several strikes later, Munoz was clearly done after the elbow.

After the fight an emotional Weidman asked for a shot at UFC middleweight champion Anderson Silva.

Te Huna Pounds Beltran

Joey Beltran has always been known as one of the tougher fighters in the UFC’s history and it was that toughness that brought him back to the Octagon after a brief stint on the local circuit and a drop to light-heavyweight. That toughness was on full display this evening as James Te Huna pounded Beltran for the better part of three rounds but Beltran held on and landed a few shots of his own as Te Huna started to punch himself out. Te Huna impressed from the start in the bout and set a light heavyweight record for strikes landed in a round during the first.

Te Huna is now 4-1 in the UFC with the lone loss coming to top light heavyweight contender Alexander Gustaffson.

Simpson Dominates Robertson

Aaron Simpson was impressive in his welterweight debut as he dominated Kenny Robertson en route to a unanimous decision victory. Simpson did his absolute best to finish the fight with various submissions and strikes in the third but Robertson would not yield and held on to make it to the bell.

Carmont Stops “The Terminator”

Francis Carmont marked his third straight UFC victory by defeating Karlos Vemola. The Tristar product weathered a back and forth first round and took control of the second with a nasty teep kick to the face of Vemola. While Vemola somehow walked through it, Carmont locked in a sitting kimura from the crucifix position before transitioning beautifully to a rear-naked choke for the finish.

Dillashaw Submits Lee

T.J. Dillashaw was out-gunned on his feet against Vaughn Lee but was able to weather the storm and get the fight to the mat to prove victorious. Dillashaw took Lee down early in the first and immediately began looking for the choke. While Lee was able to work to his feet, he was unable to fend off Dillashaw as he finished Lee with a rear-naked choke/neck crank hybrid.

Dos Anjos Controls Njokuani

Rafael Dos Anjos knew his the best route to victory was to take down his opponent and utilize his BJJ. Dos Anjos was able to do just that as he dominated Anthony Njokuani. Njokuani was unable to utilize his striking advantage during the bout and it not help matters when he appeared to break his hand in the first round.

Full Results

Main Card (FUEL TV)

  • Chris Weidman def. Mark Munoz via TKO at 1:37 of Round 2
  • James Te Huna def. Joey Beltran via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)
  • Aaron Simpson def. Kenny Robertson via unanimous decision (30-27,29-28,29-28)
  • Francis Carmont def. Karlos Vemola via submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:39 of Round 2
  • T.J. Dillashaw def. Vaughan Lee via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:33 of Round 1
  • Rafael dos Anjos def. Anthony Njokuani via unanimous decision (30-27,30-27,29-28)

Preliminary Card (Facebook)

  • Alex Caceres def. Damacio Page via submission (triangle choke) at 1:27 of Round 2
  • Chris Cariaso def. Josh Ferguson by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
  • Andrew Craig def. Rafael Natal via KO (headkick) at 4:52 of Round 2
  • Marcelo Guimaraes def. Dan Stittgen via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Raphael Assuncao def. Issei Tamura via TKO (punches) at 0:25 of Round 2


Follow MMAFrenzy