twitter google

Bellator Season 8 Welterweight Tournament Set for January 24

BMMA_S8_WW_tourney_fireBellator will be kicking off their eighth season’s welterweight tournament live from the WinStar World Casino in Oklahoma on January 24, the very night Ben Askren defends his title against 2012 summer series tournament winner Karl Amoussou. The promotion has now released the brackets for the welterweight series of their inaugural run on Spike TV.

One side of the bracket will see former title challenger and season 5 winner Douglas Lima looking to battle his way to a second chance at gold, while season 7 semifinalist Michail Tsarev looks to stand in his way and prove that his controversial loss to Lyman Good was just a fluke. Former DREAM welterweight Champion Marius Zaromskis will also be returning to the tournament, taking on longtime Bellator veteran Brent Weedman.

On the other side of things, UFC veteran and perennial tournament force Ben Saunders will also be on the bill, taking on debuting Koffi Adzitso. Raul Amaya will also be making his second tournament appearance, welcoming Jose Gomes to the Bellator cage.

The event will broadcast live starting at 10 pm (ET) on Spike with the preliminary card streamed LIVE on starting at 8 pm.

(Click Tournament Bracket Image to Enlarge)


Follow MMAFrenzy