twitter google

UFC on FX 7: Yuri Alcantara Awarded Win Bonus Despite No Contest

Yuri AlcantaraUFC on FX 7 fighter Yuri Alcantara will still be awarded his win bonus despite his controversial “no contest” on the night’s undercard. The UFC announced the move at the UFC on FX 7 post-fight news conference. MMAJunkie reported the news late Saturday night.

The move is largely deserved after the controversy surrounding his bout with Pedro Nobre. The controversy hinged over an exchange that followed Alcantara taking Nobre’s back after a vicious submission assault.

Alcantara landed a brutal elbow to the side of the head but was warned by referee Dan Miraglotta to not strike the back of the head. Alcantara fired off a series of punches that stayed legal, according to the replay, but Miraglotta halted the bout for shots that appeared to be to the back of the head. Nobre was given his time to recover but made no effort to get up from the spot and pointed to a spot on the back of his head where he apparently was injured (though replay show no strikes to that spot). The ringside physician then was forced to call the bout due to Nobre’s answers to his questions.

Miraglotta consulted with the commission officials to try and decide what to do in the situation. While the bout would typically result in a disqualification loss for Alcantara, Miraglotta ruled the blows unintentional, which allowed the bout to be ruled a “no contest.” The crowd’s anger over the circumstances was evident and echoed by most watching the bout as well, with many accusing Nobre of using the stoppage to avoid what appeared to be an imminent loss. The turn of events also angered UFC President Dana White, who was watching from home after his recent surgery.

The “no contest” brings Alcantara to 2-1(1 NC) in the UFC.


Follow MMAFrenzy