twitter google

UFC Announces UFC Fight Night 17 Main Card; Miller Replaces Sakara on Preliminary Card

USF Sun Dome

USF Sun Dome

The UFC this week confirmed the official lineup for UFC Fight Night 17, which takes place on February 7th at the USF Sun Dome in Tampa, Florida and airs live on Spike TV

Confirmed for the main card were Hermes Franca vs. Joe Lauzon, Denis Stojnic vs. Cain Velasquez, Mac Danzig vs. Josh Neer, and Nick Catone vs. Amir Sadollah.

The promotion also officially announced Rob Emerson vs. Kurt Pellegrino, Matt Grice vs. George Sotiropoulos, Rich Clementi vs. Gleison Tibau, and Luigi Fioravanti vs. Anthony Johnson for the unaired preliminary card.

A bout featuring Alessio Sakara against Jake Rosholt will not take place as scheduled as Sakara has been forced to withdraw from the bout for undisclosed reasons. 2-0 UFC veteran Dan Miller has agreed to fill in on short notice for Sakara and face Rosholt on the undercard. Additionally, a rumored bout between Steve Bruno and Matt Riddle has not yet been officially confirmed by the promotion.

The current UFC Fight Night 17 lineup features:


  • Hermes Franca vs. Joe Lauzon
  • Denis Stojnic vs. Cain Velasquez
  • Mac Danzig vs. Josh Neer
  • Nick Catone vs. Amir Sadollah


  • Rob Emerson vs. Kurt Pellegrino
  • Jake Rosholt vs. Dan Miller
  • Matt Grice vs. George Sotiropoulos
  • Rich Clementi vs. Gleison Tibau
  • Luigi Fioravanti vs. Anthony Johnson
  • Steve Bruno vs. Matthew Riddle


Follow MMAFrenzy