twitter google

White: Trujillo “Should Have Won”, Will Pay Fighter Win Bonus

Kelsey Mowatt

Abel Trujillo

Abel Trujillo didn’t pick up his second UFC victory last night at UFC Fight Night 27, but the promotion’s president Dana White believes he did, and plans to pay the lightweight his win purse after all. After having his preliminary card tilt with Roger Bowling declared a no-contest, that’s got to be some pretty sweet news for Trujillo, who clearly didn’t agree with the decision.

If you missed the bout, which is your loss as it was a good one, Trujillo hit Bowling with two knees in round two while the Strikeforce vet was down. The referee intervened believing that the second knee had hit Bowling to the head, but not before Trujillo also landed a hard right hand. After doctors examined Bowling they determined he could not continue and the bout was declared a no contest. Trujillo pleaded the entire time that the knee had been to Bowling’s chest.

Speaking after the card, here’s what White had to say about the call (quotes via MMA

“Those shots were not illegal,” White said at the post-fightt press conference. “The first one hit him in the chest, and the second hit him in the shoulder.”

“That kid should’ve won that fight, and I’m going to pay him his win bonus.”

Trujillo also commented on the no-contest ruling afterwards, and as one would expect, the Blackzilians’ fighter believes he was robbed of a win.

“Both of those knees were legal,” Trujillo said. “I saw he was breaking, and I hit the second knee at the top of his chest. The punch is what really hurt him. He acted his way to a no contest.”

So, it will be interesting to what follows from here, but considering Trujillo is coming off a lopsided loss to Khabib Nurmagomedov, he’s likely relieved his boss thinks he won.

Stay tuned to MMA for more on this story and all your UFC news.


Follow MMAFrenzy